Getting Settled

We just got the internet connected today, and I’m taking a short break to post something before I make the three-minute drive to pick up the kids from school.

Over the weekend we moved from the apartment to the house – it was helpful that Mark had bought a truck so we could fill it up. Between the Highlander and the Tacoma (yes, Toyota loves us here), we got everything moved. In three trips.

The movers came on Friday morning, and indeed they had both shipments – one from Houston and one from Angola. They worked for a solid seven hours unloading boxes and furniture. We are still amazed at the things we put into our Houston storage – it’s obvious we had no idea what to take overseas and what to store. We kept things like sippy cups and some of the kids’ clothes – what were we thinking? And why on earth would I have stored grocery coupons? Coupons from 2007, yeah, I’ll need those in four years.

In our defense it was an extremely stressful time preparing for our first move overseas. We had only a few weeks to pack up the house and prepare for that assignment, which was huge. So we didn’t realize that we actually wouldn’t need or want soiled potholders and half-burned candles.

I’ve got so many duplicates of kitchen items and utensils now. When we moved, I didn’t realize that my kitchen in Angola would be so poorly equipped, so I had to buy proper kitchenware. So now I’ve got two potato mashers, two butter dishes, countless muffin tins, and five wire whisks. I haven’t located all of my pots and pans but I know I’m well stocked there too. Good thing I have a big kitchen.

Here’s a pic of the house, I’ll post more pics later. We absolutely love it.

One final comment as I wrap up this post – the other day Mark and I were asked a very strange question about living in our new neighborhood: “Are you moose-friendly?” We didn’t even know how to answer that.

About staciemarkcoop

I'm a stay-at-home mom, trailing spouse, and follower of Jesus. Loving my life in Mozambique!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting Settled

  1. Anonymous says:

    ME TOO

  2. Ahhhh, your house is beautiful. I would love to see inside pictures too. I’ll give you only a couple of weeks to get your house in order first. :O)

  3. Sandra says:

    Sierra says she’s moose friendly as she giddely (is that the right spelling or even a word) clapped with excitement at the thought.

Comments are closed.